The Governors of St John’s School are a diverse group of people who bring a wide variety of skills and knowledge to the governing body. Drawn from parents, staff and volunteers from the wider community we work as a cohesive group to provide strategic leadership of the school. Governors have a crucial role in challenging and supporting the school leadership team and therefore closely monitor and evaluate progress. We also have responsibility for agreeing the budget and determining school policies. In essence, the Governors have the ultimate collective responsibility for ensuring that the school is well managed and run.

The full governing body meets 5 times each academic year. Each Governor is also a member of a sub-committee which focuses on particular aspects of the school’s management, working in conjunction with the Senior Leadership Team (SLT) and the Parents, Teachers and Friends Association (PTFA).

It is our aspiration to continue to drive improvements in both the academic achievement and physical learning environment at St John’s and as a committed and dynamic team we are dedicated to achieving this goal

Governors Attendance

Individual attendance can also be found in the Our Governors page.


We currently have the following committees that meet regularly.

Resources Committee

Nicky Scott Knight (Chair), Barbara Wightwick, Evie Hambi, Catherine Hasler, Alero Abbey, Jane Rana

Curriculum, Parents, Pupils & Community Committee

Alero Abbey (Chair) Christine Cosker, Barbara Wightwick, Evie Hambi, Prushad Patel, Ana de Castro, Alistair Scott

Admissions Committee

Alero Abbey (Chair), Barbara Wightwick, Nicky Scott Knight 

To contact the governors please email